NPC 2021

The 2021 NPC was probably the first NPC season that we covered. We were introduced to players like Timoci Tavatavanawai, Vereniki Tikoisolomone, Veveni and Peni Lasaqa, Rupeni Tamani and Onisi Ratave amongst others.

The Championship final was won by Taranaki 32-19 over Otago. Taranaki went through the entire season undefeated.
All Fijians in this final played a big role. Firstly Vilimoni Koroi for Otago who scored a try but despite his best efforts, the Bulls were too strong as they were all season.
Kini Naholo scored his 6th try to make him the top Fijian tryscorer in the NPC. Pita Gus Sowakula was instrumental though. He backed up his five star performance from the Semi Final and delivered again in the final.

The Premiership was won by Waikato who defeated Tasman 23-20 in a thrilling match. Tasman were going for their third straight title but were denied by a spirited home side who were also celebrating their 100th year in the competition.

Timoci Tavatavanawai and Te Ahiwaru Cirikidaveta played big roles and kept their side in the hunt until the final whistle. Levi Aumua who replaced Tavatavanawai late in the match provided some much need punch and his break lead to a Tasman try to bring them game level. Waikato would get the lead back via a penalty and would hold on despite a late surge by the Mako.

Tavatavanawai and Aumua both signed with Moana Pasifika while Northland pair Raikabula Momoedonu and Kaliopasi Uluilakepa signed with the Fijian Drua. Also going to the Drua was Counties forwards Viliame Rarasea and Zuriel Togiatama. Bay of Plenty winger Onisi Ratave lit the competition up in the early rounds scoring 3 tries from as many matches. He also signed with the Drua along with Haereiti Hetet.

Kini Naholo signed with the Crusaders while Emoni Narawa pledge allegiance to the Chiefs, leaving the Blues. 



Most Tries

Kini Naholo

Most Games

Timoci Tavatavanawai

Most Points

Kini Naholo

  Club Name PS G
1 Taranaki Vereniki Tikoisolomone WG 10
2 Taranaki Jacob Ratumaitavuki-Kneepkens WG 10
3 Tasman Timoci Tavatavanawai WG 10
4 Waikato Mosese Dawai WG 10
5 Otago Vilimoni Koroi FH 9
6 Taranaki Kini Naholo WG 9
7 Taranaki Pita Gus Sowakula N8 9
8 Canterbury Chay Fihaki CE 8
9 Canterbury Waisake Naholo WG 8
10 Tasman Levi Aumua CE 8
  Name T ST%
1 Kini Naholo 6 66.67
2 Vereniki Tikoisolomone 5 50
3 Mosese Dawai 5 50
4 Timoci Tavatavanawai 4 40
5 Chay Fihaki 4 50
6 Manasa Mataele 4 57.14
7 Jone Macilai-Tori 4 57.14
8 Jacob Ratumaitavuki-Kneepkens 3 30
9 Waisake Naholo 3 37.5
10 Kaliopasi Uluilakepa 3 42.86
11 Emoni Narawa 3 60
12 Onisi Ratave 3 100
  Name T Pen Conv P
1 Kini Naholo 6     30
2 Vilimoni Koroi 2 4 2 26
3 Vereniki Tikoisolomone 5     25
4 Mosese Dawai 5     25
5 Chay Fihaki 4 1   23
6 Timoci Tavatavanawai 4     20
7 Manasa Mataele 4     20
8 Jone Macilai-Tori 4     20
9 Jacob Ratumaitavuki-Kneepkens 3     15
10 Waisake Naholo 3     15
11 Kaliopasi Uluilakepa 3     15
12 Emoni Narawa 3     15
13 Onisi Ratave 3     15
Club Name PS G T
Bay of Plenty Haereiti Hetet PR 3  
Canterbury Manasa Mataele WG 7 4
Counties Manukau Asaeli Tikoirotuma WG 2  
Manuwatu Ropate Rinakama PR 5  
Southland Talemaitoga Tuapati HK 1  
Tasman Mesulame Dolokoto HK 0  

Full list of players

1AucklandSam WyeHB  0
2AucklandLeweni Mocevakaca *WG  0
3AucklandSalesi RayasiWG215
4AucklandSoane VikenaHK1 0
5AucklandSione AhioPR1 0
6AucklandAlex  HodgmanPR2 0
7Bay of PlentyVeveni LasaqaFL215
8Bay of PlentyPeni LasaqaWG2210
9Bay of PlentyOnisi RataveWG3315
10Bay of PlentyEmoni NarawaFB5315
11Bay of PlentyHaereiti HetetPR30
12CanterburyChay FihakiCE8423
13CanterburyManasa MataeleWG7420
14CanterburyWaisake NaholoWG8315
15Counties ManukauOrbyn LedgerFH2 0
16Counties ManukauZuriel TogiatamaHK2 0
17Counties ManukauViliame RaraseaFL2 0
18Counties ManukauHoskins SotutuN82 0
19Counties ManukauAsaeli TikoirotumaWG2 0
20Hawkes BayIsaia Walker-LeawereLK00
21ManuwatuRopate RinakamaPR50
22North HarbourJames LittleCE1 0
23NorthlandKaliopasi UluilakepaPR7315
24NorthlandRaikabula MoemoedonuFL415
25NorthlandJone Macilai-ToriWG7420
26OtagoGeorge BowerPR00
27OtagoVilimoni KoroiFH9226
28OtagoJona NarekiWG10
29SouthlandJay Naqianivalu *LK00
30SouthlandTalemaitoga TuapatiHK10
31SouthlandAmanaki NicoleWG100
32TaranakiIsaac Ratumaitavuki-KneepkensWG00
33TaranakiKini NaholoWG9630
34TaranakiVereniki TikoisolomoneWG10525
35TaranakiPita Gus SowakulaN8915
36TaranakiJacob Ratumaitavuki-KneepkensWG10315
37TasmanMesulame Dolokoto *HK 0
38TasmanTe Ahiwari CirikidavetaLK70
39TasmanLevi AumuaCE8210
40TasmanSevu ReeceWG 0
41TasmanTimoci TavatavanawaiWG10420
42WaikatoSalestino Ravutaumada *WG 0
43WaikatoMosese DawaiWG10525
44WaikatoRupeni TamaniFL7210

* Players in wider squad

Strike Rates

1Onisi Ratave33100
2Peni Lasaqa22100
3Kini Naholo9666.67
4Emoni Narawa5360
5Manasa Mataele7457.14
6Jone Macilai-Tori7457.14
7Vereniki Tikoisolomone10550
8Mosese Dawai10550
9Chay Fihaki8450
10Salesi Rayasi2150
11Veveni Lasaqa2150

Players who are no longer eligible for Fiji in the NPC

1AucklandSalesi RayasiWG
2AucklandAlex  HodgmanPR
3CanterburyWaisake NaholoWG
4Counties ManukauHoskins SotutuN8
5Hawkes BayLolagi VisiniaWG
6OtagoGeorge BowerPR
7OtagoVilimoni KoroiFH
8OtagoJona NarekiWG
9TasmanSevu ReeceWG

Share this page